Easy Soda Bread Recipe

Soda Bread.

finalsodabread

We had a combined Saint Patrick’s Day celebration and birthday dinner for my dad on Sunday. Both he and Blair loved the Soda Bread!

I don’t know about you guys, but Saint Patrick’s Day is a big deal in our household. We go all out. Corned beef & cabbage, red potatoes & carrots, Guinness chocolate cake and homemade Soda Bread. It’s seriously all too delicious.

Now I’ve been watching the women in my life make corned beef since I can remember, but it was when I was in elementary school that I can first remember having Soda Bread. I went to a private Catholic school and there was an Irish family that went there – like really really Irish! Since the school was small, we were always doing cool little activities. And this one year Alexandra’s dad, Mr. Dent, came in and told us how to make Soda Bread in his Irish accent. I must of been in first grade, but I still tell people about that day. Now married, it was my turn to make Soda Bread on my own and it was quite the daunting task!

I searched around for the perfect recipe. However, most of them had raisins or were sweet and I was just wanting a classic Soda Bread recipe. In the end, I tweaked a couple of recipes to make the perfect one for us.

Our recipe calls for these four ingredients:

  • 3 1/2 cups of All Purpose Flour
  • 1 teaspoon of Baking Soda
  • 1 teaspoon of Salt
  • 12 ounces of Buttermilk
sodabreadhowto

Right before I bake the bread, I like to sprinkle some flour on top to create an even more rustic looking bread!

Then you:

  1. Whisk together the flour, salt and baking soda.
  2. Create a “well” in the center of the dry ingredients and pour the buttermilk into it.
  3. Use your hands (cover with flour first!) and fold the buttermilk in with dry ingredients. *It will create a biscuit-like dough.
  4. Wash and re-flour your hands.
  5. Pick up the dough and place it on a floured cookie sheet.
  6. Going from the outside in, fold the dough together into a ball shape. *As you can see in the picture, the dough ball won’t be fluffy like other yeast risen doughs.
  7. Flatten the dough ball till it is 1 1/2 inches tall and cut a deep cross shape into the top to allow the dough to “breathe”.
  8. Cook for 20 minutes at 450°, then for another 20 minutes at 400°.
  9. Place on a cooling rack and enjoy!

Since I doubled the amount corned beef and cabbage we had, I knew we were going to have leftovers. The great thing about this bread is that it takes practically 5 minutes to throw together. So even though the first loaf disappeared on Sunday, I could quickly whip up another one for leftovers on Monday. Definitely a “must keep” recipe that will be added to the rest of the Draper household traditions!

Lauren

Leave a Reply

