How To: Foam Soap Refill

Cheap.

soap refill

Top: Refill ready to use!
Bottom: Water and soap in the bottle almost ready to shake together.

Okay, I’m not cheap. I’m frugal. Or as my mom used to tell me, “Lauren, you have a lobster taste on a beer budget.” And I’m proud to say I’ve lived up to that phrase my whole life. So, when I went to Target the other day to buy a foam soap refill, I was blown away at how much it cost.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I love Target and all of their wonderful treasures. However, I figured why should I buy a refill if I could make it myself for pretty much nada. So I came back home, did some research and dug around underneath the sink to make my own. One bottle of soap, an empty foam soap container and some water later, and voilà – a foam soap refill for practically nothing!

What you’ll need to make a Foam Soap Refill is:

  • 1 Tablespoon of liquid soap, any kind
  • An empty and clean foam soap container
  • Warm water (the amount of water will depend on the size of your bottle)

Then:

  1. Fill the foam soap container with warm water – I used about a cup, but you can just fill it up so the container is 75%-ish full
  2. Add a tablespoon of soap
  3. And shake!

*If you want your refill to more “soapy”, just use some more soap in the mixture.

Since the bottle of soap I had on hand was 10 fluid ounces, I’m able to make 20 refills from it. Now, let’s do some math real fast – if one bottle of foam soap refill costs $3.50, 20 refills would add up to $70. Or you could buy one 10 fl. oz.  bottle of soap for $3.50 or less and have 20 refills for just how much it cost you to buy that bottle of soap.

Makes sense just to make it on your own right? So go ahead and try it!

Lauren

Leave a Reply

